AJP 2019

Welcome to the web site of the 1st International Conference on Advanced Joining Processes. The 1st International Conference on Advanced Joining Processes 2019 will take place in Ponta Delgada, Azores (Portugal) 24-25 October 2019. The conference venue is the 4 stars hotel Azoris Royal Garden, which offers excellent facilities for high quality scientific interactions.

The Azores is one of the two autonomous regions of Portugal. It is an archipelago composed of nine volcanic islands in the North Atlantic Ocean about 1,360 km west of continental Portugal. The climate of the Azores is very mild for such a northerly location, being influenced by its distance from the continents and by the passing Gulf Stream. The culture, dialect, cuisine, and traditions of the Azorean islands vary considerably, because these once-uninhabited and remote islands were settled sporadically over a span of two centuries.

It is intended that this conference will be held every two years. The conference is chaired by Lucas F. M. da Silva and co-chaired by Paulo Martins (University of Lisbon, Portugal), Mohamad El-Zein (John Deere, USA) and Uwe Reisgen (RWTH Aachen University). The German Scientific Society of Joining (WGF, Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft Fügetechnik) supports this conference. The focus will be on all advanced methods of joining such as friction stir welding, joining by plastic deformation, laser welding, advanced mechanical joining, adhesive bonding, hybrid joining, etc.

Deadline for Submission of Abstracts:
7 June 2019

Notification of Acceptance to Authors:
21 June 2019

Early bird registration:
5 July 2019

Submission of full papers (not compulsory to submit a full paper):
24 October 2019

Call for Papers
Abstract template
Abstracts should be sent electronically to Lucas F M da Silva at lucas@fe.up.pt. Indicate in the email if you want oral or poster presentation.

Registration form


To register for the Conference, please fill in the electronic registration form. Each participant, including authors, is expected to pay the corresponding registration fee.

Early bird (Until 5th July 2019)
Regular delegate - 600 EUR
Member of Portuguese Adhesion Society (APAA) - 500 EUR
Member of German Scientific Society of Joining (WFG) - 500 EUR
Student (MSc or PhD) - 500 EUR

Standard (From 5th July 2019)
Regular delegate - 700 EUR
Member of Portuguese Adhesion Society (APAA) - 600 EUR
Member of German Scientific Society of Joining (WFG) - 600 EUR
Student (MSc or PhD) - 600 EUR

The conference fee includes cd-rom of abstracts, lunches, conference dinner, coffee-breaks and reception first day.

Cancellation Policy
In case of cancellation, a written notification should be sent to the conference chairman. If it is received prior to July 31st, 2019, registration fees will be refunded with a deduction of €75. No refund can be made after July 31st, 2019.

Payment of Conference Fee
Payments are accepted by bank transfer or credit card. Register here.

Nuno Pinto
 +351 21 415 6258
+351 96 667 2582
+351 21 415 6383
www.abreupco.com | nuno.pinto@abreu.pt
Head Office | Abreu Events
Av. 25 de Abril, nº 2 | 2799-556 Linda-a-Velha | Portugal


Lucas F M da Silva
Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto, Portugal

Paulo Martins
Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Mohamad El-Zein
John Deere, USA

Uwe Reisgen
RWTH Aachen University, Germany

International Scientific Committee
Abílio de Jesus (University of Porto, Portugal)
Afonso Reguly (UFRGS - LAMEF, Brazil)
Alexander Brosius (TU Dresden, Germany)
Altino Loureiro (University of Coimbra, Portugal)
Antonello Astarita (University of Naples Federico II, Italy)
António Augusto Fernandes (University of Porto, Portugal)
Carlos Silva (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
Catrin Davies (Imperial College London, UK)
Chiaki Sato (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
Chris Nielsen (TU Denmark, Denmark)
Daolun Chen (Ryerson University, Canada)
Eric Paroissien (ISAE SUPAERO, France)
Erman Tekkaya (TU Dortmund, Germany)
Filippo Berto (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)
Francisco Silva (ISEP, Portugal)
François Nadeau (National Research Council of Canada, Canada)
Frédéric Lachaud (ISAE-SUPAERO, France)
Giovanni Meneghetti (University of Padova, Italy)
Gregory Glinka (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Heikki Remes (Aalto University, Finland)
Holger Fricke (Fraunhofer IFAM, Germany)
Jean Pierre Bergmann (Technische Universität Ilmenau, Germany)
Jens Holtmannspötter (WIWeB, Germany)
John Goldak (Carleton University, Canada)
Juan Carlos Del Real (Universidad Pontificia Comillas Madrid, Spain)
Klaus Dilger (TU Braunschweig, Germany)
Luca Goglio (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
Luis Alves (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
Luisa Coutinho (European Welding Federation, Portugal)
Manuel Vieira (University of Porto, Portugal)
Marion Merklein (Friedrich-Alexander University, Germany)
Markus Bambach (Brandenburg University of Technology Cottbus, Germany)
Nicolas Carrere (SAFRAN, France)
Miro Uran (Institut za varilstvo, Slovenia)
Niels Bay (TU Denmark, Denmark)
Pedro Camanho (University of Porto, Portugal)
Pedro Moreira (INEGI, Portugal)
Peter Groche (TU Darmstadt, Germany)
Peter Mayr (TU Chemnitz, Germany)
Rakesh Goyal (John Deere, USA)
Ricardo Carbas (INEGI, Portugal)
Robert Adams (University of Oxford, UK)
Sayed Nassar (Oakland University, USA)
Sean Leen (NUI Galway, Ireland)
Sérgio Duarte Brandi (University of São Paulo, Brazil)
Stefan Böhm (University of Kassel, Germany)
Stefania Bruschi (University of Padova, Italy)
Sullivan Smith (TWI, UK)
Thomas Harrer (TRUMPF, Germany)


The book of abstracts (cd-rom) with the accepted abstracts available at the registration. The book of abstracts can also be downloaded with a password.

Full papers will be published in a special issue of Journal of Materials Processing Technology (ELSEVIER), Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, Part E: Journal of Process Mechanical Engineering (SAGE), Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, Part L: Journal of Materials: Design and Applications (SAGE), Manufacturing Review (edp open) and in a book of the book series Advanced Structured Materials (SPRINGER) (provided they meet the quality standards).

The full papers (not compulsory) should be sent to lucas@fe.up.pt before the 24th of October 2019. The text should be in single column format and double line spacing.


The poster size must be maximum A0 (841 mm x 1189 mm) in portrait (see sample image). The text and illustrations should be readable from a distance of two meters. Tacks and technical equipment for the hanging of posters will be available. Please check the conference final program for the poster board number assigned to you. Your poster should be displayed as per the number in the program.

Venue and Hotels

Conference venue: Azoris Royal Garden
The Azoris Royal Garden is located on the largest island of the Azores, São Miguel, a stunning island where you can enjoy memorable experiences and unparalleled natural beauty. It is the city of Ponta Delgada, a few meters from the historical centre. The Azoris Royal Garden offers you comfort, tranquillity and leisure time for an unforgettable experience.

Please consult the list of hotels with special rates. To benefit from this, please access the registration area using online facilities
For further information about travel and hotels, please contact:
Nuno Pinto

+351 21 415 6258
+351 96 667 2582
+351 21 415 6383
www.abreupco.com | nuno.pinto@abreu.pt
Head Office | Abreu Events
Av. 25 de Abril, nº 2 | 2799-556 Linda-a-Velha | Portugal


The best oral presentation and the best poster presentation will be awarded with a certificate and 500 euros. These awards are sponsored by Journal of Manufacturing and Materials Processing (MDPI).